Lille win Ligue 1 trophy for the first time in a decade

 Lille OSC secured the Ligue 1 Uber Eats title yesterday courtesy of a 2-1 away win against Angers. First half goals Jonathan David and Burak Yilmaz ultimately proved vital as they secured their first Ligue 1 trophy in 10 years.

The last time Lille won the league they boasted big names like Eden Hazard, Yohan Cabaye and Yao Gervinho. This time the title charge was led by 35-year old  Turk, Burak Yilmaz who was a free transfer by the way, scored 17 goals en-route to them winning the title.

Though Paris Saint Germain won 2-0 away against Brest, it was not enough to retain their Ligue 1 crown in a really entertaining title challenge with ultimately went down to the wire on the final day of the season.


Post a Comment